[Community Puzzle] Rectangle Partition

https://www.codingame.com/training/easy/rectangle-partition

Send your feedback or ask for help here!

Created by @java_coffee_cup,validated by @Alain-Delpuch,@Deltaspace and @field3.
If you have any issues, feel free to ping them.

1 Like

I passed all test cases, except for the Hi-Density ones (which I’m assuming are there for optimizing code). Problem is, for the life of me, I can’t think of other ways to check for squares more efficiently than one by one. P.S. I’m relatively new to Python and programming by the way

5 Likes

Could you describe in details how did you check for squares “one by one”? By understanding your algorithm, it is possible to point out why your algorithm is inefficient, so that you will have a direction to make improvement.

1 Like

I created a list of all the possible pairs of x and y coordinates (including combinations with 0 and width/height), then I went through the list with a nested for loop and subtracted the values from each pair to check if they are equal (ex. if x1-x2==y1-y2 from (x1,y1) and (x2,y2) pairs). It’s a very blunt way of doing it, but I just couldn’t figure out how to approach it more “elegantly” :frowning: P.S. hope I didn’t give too much away, but since I can’t 100% this puzzle yet, it should be fine :smiley:

1 Like

Thanks your detailed information.

In each check, you have to calculate (x1-x2) and (y1-y2), two subtractions.
When you have 1000 times of compare, you have to do the above calculation 2000 times. Most of the results have been done before.

This is why you got timeout.

You can calculate it only once, store it. When you need it again, pull it out to use directly.

7 Likes

Thanks for the hint :smiley: I’ll try that now and see what I can do

thank you java_coffee_cup for the nice puzzle.
i fail only validator 6, and wonder why. Here is my try in AWK:

index every length created by the x and y measurements with a value of the number of instances.