Guidance needed - making sense of the inputs

Hi all,

I’m new to Codingame and even though I already solved a couple puzzles, I still have a hard time understanding the inputs of the game.

For instance, in the puzzle I’m currently solving, the console looks like this:

> import sys
> import math

> # Auto-generated code below aims at helping you parse
> # the standard input according to the problem statement.

> n = int(raw_input())  # Number of elements which make up the association table.
> q = int(raw_input())  # Number Q of file names to be analyzed.
> for i in xrange(n):
>     # ext: file extension
>     # mt: MIME type.
>     ext, mt = raw_input().split()
> for i in xrange(q):
>     fname = raw_input()  # One file name per line.

How am I reading this? Are ‘ext’ and ‘mt’ the keys of a dictionary, and if not how can I isolate them into one? If I call xrange(n), will that call n then ext and mt on separate lines, or only ext and mt?

The game description helps understand what all the variables refer to, however I still struggle to visualize what I’m starting with. Any advice on how to get better at this?

Thanks a ton !

CG is passing you n pairs of extension -> MIME type

Example ext=“txt”,mt=“Text file”

It’s up to you to take those pairs and put them in, for example, a dictionary with the ext values as keys and the mt values as values.

Example:

MyDictionary=dict()
for i in xrange(n):
   ext, mt = raw_input().split()
   MyDictionary[ext]=mt

Then you use you dictionary to solve the problem of assiging a MIME type such as “Text file” to every “fname”

[corrected the Python 2 syntax]

2 Likes