What is exactly the Referee ? and so Engine?

Hello everyone,

I am very new to Codingame and so after trying a few and read tips on forum, I understand that it would be better having a re-coded local simulation.
I did some searches and see that there is, for example https://github.com/dreignier/cg-brutaltester that give us the layout and we need to adapt the referee.

In the first place I thought the “referee” refer to the engine, but then I read this topic https://www.codingame.com/forum/t/referees-on-older-games/2761/8 and it seems like the referee is something else which help to build the engine.

I am very confuse now. What is exactly the referee that everyone talk about ? and then the engine ?

Thank you all for your answers, it will help me a lot.

The engine is the program running on the Codingame servers to handle the games of a given contest. CG has published a library (and a skeleton) on Github to help people create their own game. The referee is just the part of this engine which encapsulates the logic specific to a given game. The rest could be customized but you can create a proper game by simply downloading the engine and implementing a valid referee for it.

As you can see, the referee is the most interesting part. Since some contests, a link to the official referee is provided in each game description as a kind of reference implementation to explicit (if not clarify) how a game works. Details tend to matter in the end and the description could omit too much information.