A programming job with no degree at 45 years?

Hello. I wonder if I could get a little advice from people with more experience.
I’m 45. My degree is in music composition. I had a brief gig as a banjo player for a pop star in Romania, which was amazing, but since then not much. I make OK money teaching English, but not enough.
I got into programming through music, using Csound and Pure Data. Then I discovered Python, C and C++, all of which I now love. I wrote one program for composing microtonal music using Python and Csound, but the code is a mess; I didn’t apply a lot of important rules, and I left in a lot of workarounds. Still, I got it to work and impressed a few microtonal composers.
Only since the start of this pandemic, I realized I was not making enough money to be secure. I’d always been interested in programming, but I always figured I’d missed the boat, being 45 now and with no tech degree. Now I’ve read in many places that this isn’t necessarily the case. I’ve also looked up salary ranges for programming jobs, even locally in Romania, and this renewed my interest! What a difference!
I am a nerd and can spend days alone. I can obsess over a problem until I solve it. I made good progress on the Nintendo problem, but finally decided I was wasting time.
Now, just supposing I wanted to prepare myself for a decent programming job, spending not full time on this preparation, how would I start? I’m actually thinking of enrolling in some sort of official course, an online university or something. What else?
Even if I can get a junior job just for a couple of years, it would be an improvement over teaching English and music (money-wise).

Thanks for your insight!