Learning from scratch

Good evening. I’m just starting to learn programming, and i found this site. I don’t know much, and I thought learning by seeing my progress via games would be helpful. Am I too much of a noob to use this site to learn? Should I go read some books then come back?

Welcome to Codingame! It’s a great place to build your skills if you already know a little bit, but it’s not really for learning from scratch. The first puzzle is simple, though. To start off, try the Onboarding puzzle (Puzzles menu, first item). It’s pretty basic and should give you a small taste of what the other puzzles contain. If you struggle with it, then you probably should go hit the books and come back. Otherwise, the puzzles have a progression from easy to very (very!) hard and you can go at whatever pace and in whichever language works for you.

3 Likes

I completed the first challenge. I went on to the 2nd challenge and was completely lost. (thank you for the welcome by the way!)

I’m the type of person who learns best by doing and I thought by working with this site and the games I would learn quickly because I would see the progress or fails instantly, but I feel I’m either not smart enough, or need more preliminary knowledge before I continue here.

Hey, you are definitely smart enough (in my opinion everyone is) :slight_smile: further more I completely understand your learning method, I am exactly the same way. What I do is if I get stuck on a specific problem on this site I go look at the puzzle on the puzzles page again. Under the title it gives a small description in grey. If you are unsure how to solve the problem you should research that topic until you understand it and then come back :smiley: (for example: :puzzle: - :description: -> The Descent - Searching in a list)

ok so for example; in The Descent. The goal is searching in a list. I see the code on the right of the screen and become confused because I don’t know what I’m looking for.