[Scala, Multiplayer] Problem with Scala on Multiplayer Games (PONG)

I recently started to program in Scala and I thought Ultimate Tic Tac Toe would be a good way to learn. The problem is that I often get the following cryptic bug/issue/feature:

Standard Output Stream:
> PONG
Game Summary:
MathJason eliminated: Invalid output.

Nowhere did I specify PONG as an output. Also any debugging code I wrote doesn’t get displayed. It happens 100% of the time when my bot plays against itself. Right now my game logic is trivial, but I have a lot of classes, so it must be the compilation is taking too long.

• What does PONG mean?
  • If it is the compilation is taking too long, since I am new to Scala, how can I speed up my compilation time?
3 Likes

Actually, this PONG stuff happens even with the default Scala code. If I play the default code against itself in the CodinGame IDE, then the above bug always happens. (Tried two browsers as well.)

Upon further debugging, this seems to be a bug in most, if not all, of the Multiplayer games. I reproduced it on every one I tried, including Ultimate TicTacToe, Botters of the Galaxy, and Great Escape (to try an old game).

1. In the IDE, set the language to Scala.
  2. Use the default code (or any other Scala code).
  3. Set all players to be the IDE code.
  4. Run

Then the result is always:

Standard Output Stream:
> PONG

This is clearly a bug.

1 Like

Same here, encountered today while was adapting my BotG contest code to multiplayer game. But never had it earlier.

I catch this also with league boss but not with other bots.

I had a “bug” when used various online C++ compilers, could see program output of other users when it was supposed to be a segfault. Maybe something similar here, just a guess.

Same here, on Ultimate Tic Tac Toe, Scala, against my submitted bot.

And both in the IDE as between submitted bots:
https://www.codingame.com/replay/298526402
https://www.codingame.com/replay/298526526