[Community Puzzle] Someone's Acting Sus

Coding Games and Programming Challenges to Code Better

Send your feedback or ask for help here!

Created by @SubwayMan,validated by @juliendbg,@FreezeRain and @Benoi.
If you have any issues, feel free to ping them.

im new and dont know how to code

can you teach me

Even if this puzzle is easy, you should start with an easier puzzle (Temperatures, the Descent…)

Hi I am new to this puzzle, I use Java to solve it and write a helper function which takes in the room layout and the recorded path of crewmate, it will return a boolean to indicates is the crewmate sucks or not.
And the function with the debug message is here:

public static boolean isSus(String crewmatePath,String roomLayout){
    boolean isSus=false;

// loops to compare the path first in ascending order
    for(int i=0;i<crewmatePath.length()-1;i++){
        char current=crewmatePath.charAt(i),next=' ';

// skip to the next one if there is #
        if(current=='#'){
            continue;
        }

// skip to the next location if there is # for the next
        // it will also represent the travel time of the current grid and the next grid.
        int recordedTimeForTraveling=1;
        while(crewmatePath.charAt(i+recordedTimeForTraveling)=='#'){
            recordedTimeForTraveling++;
        }
        next=crewmatePath.charAt(i+recordedTimeForTraveling);

System.err.println("current: "+current+"\nnext: "+next);

// the actual time travel from the current location to the next recorded location
        int actualTime=Math.abs(roomLayout.indexOf(next)-roomLayout.indexOf(current));

// if the room that crewmate travel from is the initial room they are spawn,
        // and the next one they are travelling to is at the end of the room
        // it is considered that the distance should only take 1 minutes according to
        // the rule.
        if(actualTime==roomLayout.length()-1){
            actualTime=1;
        }