Can anyone test the security of my encryption algorithm

I am new to encryption of messages but decided to give it a go. i made an algorithm that checks every letter in the message. for ever letter it finds it’s position in the alphabet-(z) which is then used to match up to a scrambled up version of the alphabet. whatever character is at z of the scrambled up list is then used in the encoded message. to make it more secure i made the algorithm use a pincode. the scrambled up list shifts based on each number in the pincode.

Somebody then told me that computers would have no problem decoding a message encrypted like that. So I was wondering what the community thought. Would an algorithm like that be easily decrypted / bruteforced?

Here is an example of an encrypted message by my program:
VfP49NxMNx NfNZxMMZ9N4xMNMCCN9f PNMCNQ9hCQ9.
(i hope that helps to see if it easily decoded or not)

Thanks to anyone who could tell me!

Don’t rely on keeping the algorithm itself secret (I’ve not seen any code), but only the key. Standard algorithms like RSA or AES are all well documented.

And your message is really short. The longer it is, the easier to break.

How long is your pincode? If it is as long as the secret message, you can make it perfectly secure (when you don’t reuse the pincode), see one-time-pad.

“maybe it is a little bit too easy to decode”

Indeed :wink:

1 Like

Thanks for testing it, any suggestions on how to improve it?

And how can i test the security of these algorythems without having to bother the people on a forum to tes it for me?
although i understand if that is a little bit to dificult to explain.

I guess you need to check out the theory @Simkoo