[Community Puzzle] Balanced ternary computer: encode

Coding Games and Programming Challenges to Code Better

Send your feedback or ask for help here!

Hell everyone. I am a noob in programming still. Now I’m stuck at puzzle “Balanced ternary computer: encode”. Actually having trouble about understanding the task.
At first we have ternary numeral system, which is based on numbers (0, 1 and 2) and after some attempts I suppose this encoding table:
{ 2: ‘1’,
1: ‘T’,
0: ‘0’, }
Some algorithm of mine works with tests 3 and 4 but still fails with tests 1 and 2.

1. have now idea about encoding input 8 to expected “10T”. I have “11” on the output
  2. the same dead end about input -15 and expected “T110”. And my output is “-T10”.
    Can anybody explain the encoding algorithm for me please?
    Thanks anyway.

Google should bring you to suitable wiki pages.
A quick calculation, base3’s value for 4 digits are 27, 9, 3, 1
so that 10T means 19 + 1-1 = 8
and also that T110 = 27*-1 + 91 + 31 = -15

Sorry, still missing the point of task.
How in two steps of

the result contains 3 symbols of

?
And back to text of task, about 6

And correct me, if I’m wrong: in basic ternary numerics are [0, 1, 2] and according to task it should become [T, 0, 1].
I got the first symbol for result string. Don’t want to spoil it here. And don’t know how to get the rest in correct order and quantity.

Perhaps starting with very basic examples first.
You asked why Decimal 8 equals “10T”.
Assume you know why there is a sequence 81, 27, 9, 3, 1. Here I only need [9, 3, 1].

“1” means 1 * 9
“0” means 0 * 3
“T” means T * 1 = -1 * 1
Sum the results, becomes 9-1 = 8.

Let me know if the above is still puzzling you.

Hello,

Please do you know where is the problem with my code, it pass all the tests but I don’t get 100%.

• It seems I don’t have a minor error in my code.
  • It seems I have considered all the cases (I have checked the limit values).
  • It seems I haven’t hardcoded.

Thanks in advance.