Is JavaScript A Good Language?

As the title says, I am wondering a few things about this Language. JavaScript is my first programming language and is the only l programming language I know. I am a beginner. Here are the things I want to know below.

1: Is JavaScript good for beginners like I keep hearing?

2: What are some of the things you can do with JavaScript?

3: What are some of the cons of JavaScript?

If there is anything in this thread that makes it to where I need to move it or change it, let me know and I will.

Try some tutorials and they will tell you from the start what’s the pros and cons. There are tens of tutorials and sites out there, but I recomand you just one: khan academy. It will teach you all you need to know about JavaScript.

Have a nice day!

@GabrielMarius

Thank you very much for the reply. I use KhanAcademy, Codecademy and two others to teach myself programming :smile:

1. Yes good for beginners and after
  2. You can do a loooooot of stuff, actually all front-end of the games here are in javascript, so yeah, load of stuff.
  3. There is really not so much cons about js, maybe it a little verbose, try coffescript to see the difference. And with JUST javascript, you will find that you might missed some of the good utility functions, but it can be fixed with some awesome libraries like underscore or lodash.

Javascript is awesome, powerful and sometimes confusing, but it comes with a great range of libraries which enhance it.

@CvxFous

Awesome! Thanks for the comment, I shall continue to learn JS.

GUYS!
Please add Coffeescript - it should be really easy. (I can write a manual how to do it :slight_smile:
one script to include to your website - and that’s all - you have new language!

As for me - best script language for today and a lot of people who would like to use it!

THANKS!

In fact, what is your experience in programming if you say such crazy things? 1 year? ))