Language request: C++14

Please pass -std=c++14 to g++ to enable C++14 instead of the current C++11 mode. C++14 does bring quite a few productivity enhancements that I’ve found myself needing very early in the game (to cite just one notable example: generic lambdas).

Additionally but less importantly (I’m new to the game so I haven’t found myself needing those yet, but I’m anticipating), sorted by decreasing interest:

- It would be nice to be able to include Boost libraries. In “day to day” C++, Boost is virtually a must-have extension of the standard library.
  - It would be nice to compile with optimizations turned on (not sure if it would really make a difference in any of the puzzles?)

• It would be nice to have g++5.x

Thanks for your time, and I think your site is pretty fun.

11 Likes

Is there any word from the coding game team when they would consider updating/ passing the c++14 flag? I would appreciate C++14 as well. It’s great to get familiar with C++14 features using Coding Game and we’re already awaiting C++17.
iso cpp status

2 Likes

Wholly agreed, there’s some exciting stuff in there I don’t get to use (yet) otherwise. Please update!

Codingame staff, for your convenience, this is the flag to copy/paste:

-std=c++14 -O3

:innocent:

6 Likes

I think what the IDE needs is some kind of flags or compiler parameters line, not limited to c++ or to a specific set of arbitrary parameters.
I don’t know if changing the C++11 to C++14 could add some compiler problems to existing code of players, this must be checked. The same with updating GCC to a much newer version.
The O3 is usually good but I sometimes need to disable the Pragma to find a bug, so an always on O3 could be a problem too. And maybe I prefer O2 or Ofast…
So it should be more flexible a compiler parameter line, or selectable flags, this way also others Lang can benefit (C#, Rust, Pascal…)

I can’t say for C++11 and C++14. But i know some code will not compile with a newer version of GCC.