Python modules for machine learning/reinforcement learning

Hello all,

Sorry if this has already been adressed, I’m a bit of a newbie here.

I’ve seen a couple topics in the past to request more available modules in Python 2&3, and I’d like to add a few more to the wishlist:

• sklearn, the most commonly used machine learning module
  • keras+theano, a very popular pair of modules to train & use neural networks

I don’t know if many people here use these kind of methods, but I think reinforcement learning could be a viable path in some of the games available.

Thank you.

(thank you also for adding numpy last year, staying below 50ms in GitC would have been a nightmare without it :slight_smile: )

5 Likes

I use those libraries on a weekly basis and they’re indeed awesome (especially Keras), however aside from Numpy / Scipy I don’t think they’re necessary.

• Running those on CG in the runtime allocated would be difficult (loading Theano + Keras + serialized model and weights would take much more than that)

• Other languages would require the same treatment: Breeze for Scala, D4J for Java, … I think I’ve heard that even C/C++ doesn’t have all the possibles compiler optimizations enabled. And that would be a lot of work to maintain

• I’ve been on CG for only a few months and I’ve reimplemented from scratch more algorithms than I’ve ever done in the past. It felt great and I learned a lot. I believe that is a core aspect of CG, contrary like Kaggle for example which is much more focused on the competition.

You might already know about those :slight_smile:

http://iamtrask.github.io/2015/07/12/basic-python-network/

http://outlace.com/Reinforcement-Learning-Part-3/

which are great examples of that.

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply, you raise many good points.

Running those on CG in the runtime allocated would be difficult (loading Theano + Keras + serialized model and weights would take much more than that)