Tips and Tricks for Code Golfing in PHP

I see there are ‘code golf tips’ topics for some languages, but not for PHP, so let me start one.
I list some generic, non-puzzle specific tips I encountered - this is intended for beginners, as I am not a PHP pro at all. The best submissions on leaderboard seem unimaginably compact for me, so I start this topic not for altruism, but in hope that some real pros share some more tips (but not spoilers) :slight_smile:

• Use only <? instead of <?php and you can skip the ?> at the end. No space after <? is needed.
  • Use fgets(STDIN) instead of stream_get_line. Unfortunately, it also reads the CR (end-of-line) character, but that is not a problem with integers. For real strings, you can use rtrim(fgets(STDIN))
  • If you need multiple fgets (e.g. init and per turn input), use fgets($s=STDIN) … fgets($s) instead of using fgets(STDIN) twice.
  • No space needed in input parsing format string, e.g. fscanf(STDIN,"%d%d",$y,$x)
  • Use && || logical operators instead of ‘and or’. They have different precedence, so for example this expressions does not need any parentheses: if(a<$b||$c>0&&$d=1)
  • If possible, refactor comparison expressions to use < or > instead of <=, >=, ==, !=
  • Use the PHP v7.x spaceship operator $a<=>$b instead of ($a<$b?-1:($a>$b?1:0))
  • Use the Elvis operator $a?:$b if you find a case where you can (well, to be honest, so far I didn’t)
  • To iterate on characters of a string, use foreach(str_split($M)as$m) … $m … instead of for($i=0;$i<strlen($M);$i++) … $M[$i] …
  • Use while(1) instead of while(TRUE) for endless loops
  • Use echo $a."\n"; instead of echo ($a."\n"); echo is not a function but language construct. If you need to print single variable(s) and not an expression, then echo “$a\n”; also works.
  • Use join instead of implode. Unfortunately in PHP v7.x split is no longer possible instead of explode.