[Community Puzzle] Dungeons and Maps

https://www.codingame.com/training/easy/dungeons-and-maps

Send your feedback or ask for help here!

Created by @Di_Masta,validated by @anon79121980,@Klemek and @RENZOU.
If you have any issues, feel free to ping them.

It appears there is a problem with the OCaml base code, it throws “exception End_of_file” and I’m not sure how to fix that. Does anyone have an idea?
The Stub is:

read w:int h:int
read startRow:int startCol:int
read n:int
loop n loop h read mapRow:string(w)
write mapIndex

A wall or an empty space does not have any impact on the game logic… :thinking: :thinking:

2 Likes

@Di_Masta Your stub is correct. It’s a problem with the OCaml code generated.
@NoisyBoy Yes indeed, that was already pointed out by someone during the reviewing process (the author answered “walls and empty squares are just for confusion”).

3 Likes

Hello I am new to CodinGame and I am really trying to solve Dungeons and Maps. Quick question: are we only able to access the map row by row? Is there a way to get the entire map as an array? Thanks.

1 Like

Hi, good luck in your journey :slight_smile:

You’re given the strings for each row of the map one by one at the input stage. There are mainly two ways you could go:

1. Before the input stage declare an array of strings (to hold H strings for each map).
    At the input stage when you get a row for the map add it to the array of strings.
    And then you could access each element of the map by getting the string for the needed row:
    str row = array[rowIdx]
    and the character of the row string for the needed column:
    char cell = row[columnIdx]
  2. Before the input stage declare a two dimensional array of characters:
    char map[20][20] (using 20 as dimensions, because the maps couldn’t be bigger, by the puzzle definition).